Now known as Westfield Carousel, the area on the corner of Cecil Avenue and Albany Highway has always played an important role in the community. It has evolved dramatically throughout the years:
- The Cecil Hotel was built around 1896-1898 by Stephen Gibbs, who was also its first owner and publican. The hotel had numerous owners, and was de-licensed in 1927. It remained so for 27 years until it re-opened as the Waverley Hotel in 1955.
- The original Cannington School building opened on the Albany Road in 1898. Additional classrooms were added as the school grew. Children from as far away as Byford were travelling to Cannington to attend school.
- In 1958, the first suburban branch of Boans, Perth's iconic department store, opened in Cannington between the Waverley and Cannington School. It became part of Carousel Shopping Centre when it opened in 1972, and became a Myer store after Boans was purchased by Myer in 1985.
- Plans for business development of the area began in the 1960s. Cannington School was moved to a new site on Wharf Street in 1970. The old school buildings were demolished to make way for Carousel Shopping Centre, which opened in 1972. Boans became part of the new shopping centre, and became a Myer store after Boans was purchased by Myer in 1985.
- The Waverley Hotel became the Carousel Tavern when the shopping centre opened. It was eventually demolished in 1992, due to the widening of Albany Highway.
Images: Cecil Hotel, c.1930; Albany Highway, Boans and Cannington School, 1961; Carousel opening day, 1972/